Does the bridgerton series follow the books?

Netflix’s Regency drama “Bridgerton” is based on Julia Quinn’s best-selling book series. Season one mostly follows the first book, “The Duke and I,” but there were some major changes. Warning: Major spoilers and potential triggers ahead for the first season of “Bridgerton.” Visit Insider’s homepage for more stories.

Do the bridgerton books follow the show?

Given that the first season of Netflix’s Bridgerton was based on the first book in Julia Quinn’s series of romance novels, it should come as no surprise that the second season—which was released on Friday—is based on the second book in the series, The Viscount Who Loved Me.

Is Penelope whistledown in books?

Their love story unspools in Quinn’s fourth novel, “Romancing Mister Bridgerton.” In the book, Colin discovers Penelope’s alter ego is Lady Whistledown, and grapples with jealousy. Colin wanted to be a writer — and Penelope already is one.

Who was Lady Whistledown in the books?

Lady Whistledown was revealed to be Penelope Featherington (Nicola Coughlan) during the season 1 finale. While that aspect remains the same in both versions, the book series didn’t disclose this information until the fourth book, titled Romancing Mister Bridgerton.

How is Bridgerton season 2 different from the book?

The recasting of white characters as people of color is the biggest difference between the books and the show, and many fans were excited that Kate Sheffield would become Kate Sharma in season two. But that isn’t the only thing that has changed in the adaptation.

Was the Duke of Hastings Black in the book?

The Bridgerton family is made up of white actors like Dynevor, while the Duke of Hastings is played by Page, who is Black.

Are the bridgerton books different than the show?

With any book-to-screen adaptation, it’s normal for changes and tweaks to be made to the story line — and Bridgerton is no exception. The new period drama, which premiered on Netflix in December 2020, is based on author Julia Quinn’s book series of the same name.

What are the 8 books in the bridgerton series?

  • Book 1. Daphne & Simon. Read · Buy · Listen.
  • Book 2. Anthony & Kate. Read · Buy · Listen.
  • Book 3. Benedict & Sophie. Read · Buy · Listen.
  • Book 4. Colin & Penelope. Read · Buy · Listen.
  • Book 5. Eloise & Phillip. Read · Buy · Listen.
  • Book 6. Francesca & Michael. Read · Buy · Listen.
  • Book 7. Hyacinth & Gareth.
  • Book 8. Gregory & Lucy.

How do I read Bridgerton books?

  1. The Duke and I. READ NOW.
  2. The Viscount Who Loved Me. READ NOW.
  3. An Offer From a Gentleman. READ NOW.
  4. Romancing Mister Bridgerton. READ NOW.
  5. To Sir Phillip, With Love.
  6. When He Was Wicked.
  7. It’s in His Kiss.
  8. On the Way to the Wedding.

Who each Bridgerton book is about?

Each book in the Bridgerton series focuses on one of the Bridgerton siblings and their journey to find love, like Daphne and Simon. So, yes, in theory we could have eight seasons of Bridgerton, and I am so ready for it.


Julia Quinn is the Seattle woman behind Netflix’s …

‘Bridgerton’ Author Julia Quinn on How Shonda Rhimes …

i read the “bridgerton” book and it’s… problematic …

Other Articles

What is Enduring Love?

Is Kokoro a real story?

Are the High Republic books canon?

What should I read after Evermore?

How long does it take to read Still Alice?