Does the giver quartet need to be read in order?

You don’t have to, but everything will make more sense.

In what order do you read The Giver Quartet?

The Giver Quartet is a series of four books about a dystopian world by Lois Lowry. The quartet consists of The Giver (1993), Gathering Blue (2000), Messenger (2004), and Son (2012).

Is The Giver a standalone book?

While The Giver is often taught as a standalone novel with an ambiguous ending, it’s actually part of a four-book series that demystifies the first book’s conclusion.

Is it worth reading The Giver Quartet?

Yes, yes, yes. You must read the whole quartet. It really gives insight to the first book and it’s so cool when you get the “ah-ha” moment when everything pieces together.

Why is The Giver so controversial?

The Giver’s social critique has resulted in controversy and multiple attempts to ban it from schools. Lowry includes mentions of sex, infanticide, suicide, starvation, and euthanasia in order to show the power of the book’s main themes of suffering and individuality.

Why is The Giver so good?

The Giver was so powerful because it’s one of a rare few young adult books which leaves the ending up to you. The ending of The Giver is powerful because we have a choice in what it means; just as Jonas made a sacrificial choice for the good of the community, you have to decide for yourself too.

Is The Giver written in first person?

Narrator The story is told by a third-person narrator whose point of view is limited to what Jonas observes and thinks. Point of View The story is told completely from Jonas’s point of view.

How are The Giver Quartet books related?

Summaries of The Giver Series. The Giver series is a four-book series written by Lois Lowry. It is a dystopian science fiction series for young adults. Unlike other book series, the books are very loosely connected, and do not have the same character as the main character in each book.

Are there any sequels to The Giver?

After Lois Lowry published The Giver in 1993, she wrote three more books — starting with Gathering Blue in 2000, Messenger in 2004, and Son in 2012 — to form “The Giver Quartet.” These aren’t sequels in the proper sense, but they do eventually answer the question: What happened?


The Giver by Lois Lowry | In-Depth Summary & Analysis

The Giver: Issues and Themes

Author Lois Lowry Visit to Iowa City Public Library

Other Articles

What is the best book a new father?

Does Snowpiercer follow the comics?

How do books improve focus and concentration?

What is considered Ken Follett’s best book?

What happened to the author of No Longer Human?