What are some books like The Song of Achilles?

What books are like Song of Achilles?

Is Circe the sequel to Song of Achilles?

“Circe” is Madeline Miller’s second novel and the spiritual sequel to her highly acclaimed retelling of “The Illiad,” through “The Song of Achilles.” The novel reinvents “The Odyssey” through the eyes of a sorceress, Circe, who garners little attention in the story’s original adaption.

Was Patroclus an Achilles lover?

Many Greco-Roman authors read their relationship as a romantic one—it was a common and accepted interpretation in the ancient world. We even have a fragment from a lost tragedy of Aeschylus, where Achilles speaks of his and Patroclus’ “frequent kisses.”

Do I need to read anything before Song of Achilles?

I grouped these two together because they’re by the same author, but you can read either or both. Technically, The Song of Achilles comes first, but if the Trojan War isn’t your style, you can read Circe without missing anything.

What should I read after Ariadne?

  • The Women of Troy. by Pat Barker. Published Aug 2022.
  • Elektra. by Jennifer Saint. Published May 2022.

What should I read next Achilles song?

The Silence of the Girls: A Novel – The Silence of the Girls is a 2018 book from the English novelist Pat Barker. Much like Miller’s The Song of Achilles, Barker’s book recounts The Iliad chiefly from another perspective—that of Briseis.

Should I read the Odyssey before Circe?

Madeline Miller You definitely do not have to have read the Odyssey to read Circe! It’s really important to me that my novels don’t require previous Greek myth knowledge.

What is the rage of Achilles about?

Achilles is initially angry because the leader of the Greek forces, King Agamemnon, takes a captive woman named Briseis from him. Early Greek society was highly competitive and a man’s honour was vital to his sense of identity and position.

Which book is better Circe or Song of Achilles?

Circe fares significantly better here than The Song of Achilles, because it offers a more well-rounded view of the story and its characters.

Is Circe a sad book?

Yet, I think it is precisely the sadness of Madeline Miller’s second novel, Circe, that makes it the masterpiece it is. A re-telling of the life of the Greek goddess Circe, most famous for hosting Odysseus on her island on his long journey home from the Trojan War, the novel is as captivating as it is tender.

How long does it take to read a song of Achilles?

The average reader will spend 6 hours and 58 minutes reading this book at 250 WPM (words per minute).

Is Circe worth reading?

I would recommend Circe to anyone, specifically those who liked reading books by Rick Riordan or who have a particular interest in mythology. Circe is a magical and extraordinary read and is guaranteed to scratch that itch in the brain of all who decide to read it.

Is there a book after The Song of Achilles?

“The Song of Achilles” is an ancient Greek fiction book that gives the Trojan War a modern twist. I learned “Circe,” was released in April 2018 but I never envisioned a sequel to “The Song of Achilles.” Despite it being labeled as the sequel to “The Song of Achilles,” is a standalone book with its own characters.

How old was Achilles when he met Patroclus?

15 Years Old – Achilles touches the places on Patroclus that have changed.

Is Circe a retelling?

Reviews for Circe – “A bold and subversive retelling of the goddess’s story that manages to be both epic and intimate in its scope, recasting the most infamous female figure from the Odyssey as a hero in her own right.” ―The New York Times, Click here for full profile.

Why is it called Song of Achilles?

The title is also a reference to the Iliad, which literally means “the song of Troy.” I saw my story as Patroclus’s song to Achilles. *MILLER, Madeline. The Song of Achilles. 378p.

What is the book Circe about?

In ‘ODY-C,’ A Greek Hero Worthy Of Women – Circe is a nymph, daughter of the sun god Helios, banished to the island of Aiaia for using magic to turn a romantic rival into the monster Scylla. Alone, she begins to hone her craft.

What book is Achilles in?

A tale of gods, kings, immortal fame, and the human heart, The Song of Achilles is a dazzling literary feat that brilliantly reimagines Homer’s enduring masterwork, The Iliad.


Videos

“The Song of Achilles” by Madeline Miller, Chapter 15

The Chainsmokers, Coldplay – Something Just Like This (Lyrics) 🎵

Something Just Like This – The Chainsmokers & Coldplay | Romy Wave (piano cover)


Other Articles

Do they make Vampire Diaries books?

What is the saddest love book?

What is the order for the Gone series of books?

How do books become Penguin Classics?

What’s so great about Middlemarch?