What order should I read Val McDermid books?

  • Book 1 – The Distant Echo (HarperCollins, 2003)
  • Book 2 – A Darker Domain (HarperCollins, 2008)
  • Book 3 – The Skeleton Road (Little, Brown, 2014)
  • Book 4 – Out of Bounds (Little, Brown, 2016)
  • Book 5 – Broken Ground (Little, Brown, 2018)
  • Book 6 – Still Life (Little, Brown, 2020)

What are Val McDermid best books?

Is Val McDermid a good author?

With commercial success and critical acclaim, there’s no doubt that Val McDermid is one of the most popular authors of the last 100 years. If you’re a huge fan of her work, then vote on your favorite novels below and make your opinion count.

How many seasons of wire in the blood were made?

Wire in the Blood
No. of series6
No. of episodes24
Executive producerSandra Jobling

What series did Val McDermid write?

The Mermaids Singing, the first book in the Hill/Jordan series, won the Crime Writers’ Association Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year. The Hill/Jordan series has been adapted for television under the name Wire in the Blood, starring Robson Green.

What is Val McDermid first book?

Her first published novel, Report for Murder, was written in 1984 and published in 1987; it featured lesbian journalist Lindsay Gordon. Four further novels featuring Gordon have been published. In 1991 McDermid gave up her journalism to write full time, although she still contributes to various national newspapers.

Why is wire in the blood called that?

In an interview Robson Green said the phrase wire in the blood was taken to mean a genetic kink, something impure and unusual in the blood, that leads to the kind of psychosis Hill might deal with.

Where are Val McDermid books set?

The series is based on Kirkcaldy-born author Val McDermid’s novel, ‘The Distant Echo’, which tells the tale of the young detective promoted to Police Scotland’s Historic Cases Unit.

How did Wire in the Blood end?

Unlike most shows, which run at 45 minutes per episode, Wire in the Blood runs at 90 minutes per episode. Given the immense detail used in the stories, the show simply wouldn’t work with shorter episodes. The series was cancelled in 2009 due to ITV’s financial troubles.

Who is the killer in Wire In The Blood?

Furnace Body Disposal: In the book (The Wire in the Blood) it’s mentioned that after torturing, raping, and killing his victims, Jacko Vance put their bodies and anything else that linked them to him into the furnace at the hospital where he volunteered.


BBC News Val McDermids Wire in the Blood series continues

Take a tour of Val McDermid’s book shelves

Queen of Crime: Val McDermid

Other Articles

Is carrion comfort a good book?

How do I write a positive self-help book?

What order do Jojo Moyes books go in?

Is Jurassic Park fiction or nonfiction?

What Stephen King books are worth reading?